Saturday, March 5, 2011

Artfire- Possible New Development

I was emailed today by Jenny N. They were looking at Artfire and discovered that there was an issue when attempting to access GlitterSniffer Cosmetics listings.

They found that when you searched GlitterSniffer Cosmetics in All Items that the company's listings came up. Attempting to access any of the listings, however, simply brought the page back to the main screen.The same happens when you search GlitterSniffer Cosmetics in Handmade.

I did a bit of research myself. I searched for GlitterSniffer Cosmetics as a Seller Search. Here was the result:


ArtFire Seller Not Found.
The company has not announced on the Facebook Fan Page that it is placing the shop on vacation as is their usual practice. They have even recently gone back to their stated 3-5 business day turnaround time, so it does not appear to be an issue of orders being backed up.
It should be noted that even if the shop were on vacation, it would still be searchable as a shop and not return the result Seller Not Found. Depending on the Vacation Mode chosen by the seller the shop would either appear empty with a vacation message, or full, with a vacation message. 

Artfire Shop Open Vacation Message
Artfire Shop Closed Vacation Message

It is too soon to tell the exact implications of these searches. It could be that there is a functionality issue with Artfire at this time. I have emailed Artfire at service@artfire.com for further information.
Thank you to Jenny N. for the information, and I will update should I hear back from Artfire.

3/5/11 ETA: Add the name of the emailer who provided the information.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Quick Update

I am still editing PII from the PII screenshots and have been deluged with screenshots from Lela Warren's Q&A about GlitterSniffer Cosmetics. I apologize for the delay but will be back to posting very soon. There is a lot of information to cover and I want to make sure everything is above board prior to publication.

Upcoming posts will include the Q&A and some more of your stories. I want to thank everyone for sharing and I will get everything posted as quickly as I can.

I appreciate your understanding, and for those new to the blog please see this post to get a quick overview of the situation.

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Michigan Radio

The story from Michigan Radio has been posted.

Per the AP Use guidelines on the site it may not be republished or rewritten. For the full story I encourage you to visit the link. It tells a few personal stories, and has information about the Michigan attorney General and FDA. GlitterSniffer Cosmetics side of the story is not represented in this piece, though not through lack of trying on Michigan Radio's part.

I am very pleased with this turn of events. Hopefully this will let more people who may have been affected know about the recall and educate others so they may make a safe, informed decision. Thank you to Michigan Radio for using their resources to inform and educate.

3/2/11 ETA: Audio is now up on the story.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Personally Identifying Information/FTC- Q&A Followup

Here is a brief summary of the Q&A regarding the release of GlitterSniffer Cosmetics customer personally identifying information, including information on who accessed it, why it was compiled, and what exactly was accessed. Screenshots of selected responses, as well as documentation of the entire discussion will be added later today in an edit to this post, but I felt it was necessary to get this information published as soon as possible. Lela's responses in the link will show as deleted as she was removed from the page. There is one interesting response I will include now.

Beckie O. is a semiregular GlitterSniffer Cosmetics employee who began her association with the company by purchasing products last April. She accessed the GS email and compiled customer personally identifying information. She only viewed what was obtainable off purchase receipts, dated from September 15, 2010 onward. She was able to view names, addresses, email addresses, purchase totals, and any "notes to seller". She states she did not save any of the information and had been given access to the email account on at least one prior occasion. The list was compiled to be supplied to the FDA in the event of another recall. Customer information previous to September 15, 2010 was also compiled by an unknown person previously for the same purpose.

During the course of the Q&A Lela Warren joined the discussion. She confirmed that the information was provided to the FDA. The Admins of the page identify themselves only by their initials. Lela repeatedly called one of the Admins by her first name, despite being well versed in the page guidelines regarding personally identifying information. When questioned about this she responded by releasing the Admins full name. She was then asked to leave. She stated she was complying, but then continued to remain active in the discussion.

Though there was not very much of a consensus reached it did appear that Lela did agree with one commenter:

GlitterSniffer Cosmetics Current Work Area

I apologize for the lack of a post about the PII Q&A. It will be posted shortly.

There has been much that has happened in the last 24 hours. We now know who accessed customers PII and for what purpose. After Lela released the full name of an Admin on the page during the PII Discussion the decision was made that her participation was no longer welcome on the page. You may review the reasoning for that decision here. Supporting documentation for that decision will be posted soon. When Lela was removed from the page her posts were also removed, a Facebook technicality. There are, however, screenshots.

Lela announced a Q&A on her personal Facebook page and proceeded to answer questions. The screenshots number in the forties. It is a lot of information to get through and once PII has been removed they will be posted. Thank you to everyone who documented the Q&A and for sharing.

In the interim while I work to collate all the information I present to you some photos that Lela states are of the GlitterSniffer Cosmetcs work and storage areas.

Close Up of Packing Area

Temporary Bath Item Storage Area

Up close of underneath a bucket filled with ready to go pigments

Close up of Mixing Table

Close up of Storage Shelf

Packing Table

Pigment Mixing Area

Storage Area

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Personally Identifying Information/FTC- Q&A

Sunday, February 27, 2011 at 6 PM CST the GlitterSniffer Complaints Facebook page will host a Q&A with the fan who has come forward and stated she was the person who accessed GlitterSniffer Cosmetics business email, copied almost 2,000 customers personally identifying information, placed it in a document, and sent it to the company.

She will be taking questions about the situation and would like this chance to publicly identify herself so as to address any doubts about who accessed the information and what she did with it while it was in her possession. She is not an employee of GlitterSniffer Cosmetics, so she will not be able to answer many questions regarding the business.

The Q&A will be held here.

Update and Acknowledgements

I apologize that there have been no new posts. I will get back to regularly posting soon .

A few random odds and ends:

Thank you to everyone who contacted Christie Brooks. The matter of the Fundraiser Donation is still being worked out with GlitterSniffer Cosmetics. It is hoped that there will be a mutually beneficial resolution soon.
The Michigan Radio piece should air this week. I'm unsure what it will contain, but anything that brings attention to this issue is very much appreciated.

Carolyn has resumed communication with GlitterSniffer Cosmetics proprietor Lela Warren. While she does not publicly support the company, neither does she denounce it. She is neutral, and is working to repair her personal relationship at this time. I appreciate all she shared and wish her well going forward.

I am going to spend the evening updating tags for all posts. I generally put an ETA with the date when I edit. Please consider this my catch all ETA for all posts tagged GlitterSniffer. They will be updated to GlitterSniffer Cosmetics. Nothing else will be changed.

The blog has a new look. I am very happy with it. I had absolutely nothing to do with it, except to copy and paste the code into the HTML editor. The lovely and talented Eplefe designed it, and did an excellent job of walking me through the copy and paste when I couldn't seem to figure it out. Here is her experience with GlitterSniffer Cosmetics and an examination of the phenomena of 'glittermobbing'. She has my neverending thanks.

The Facebook page has almost 400 members. On the one hand I am very pleased that the word is getting out so that more people can make an informed decision; on the other the implications of that number are overwhelming. I am not involved in the day to day operations of the page, though I am still a member and post regularly. There has been an influx of people as of late and the Admins have kept it running smoothly. I'm not quite sure what I would have done without them. They took on a huge task in admining the page, and they did it when asked by someone who refused to tell them her name. That's pretty incredible. This story would not have reached as many people as it has were it not for them. Thank you, ALC, B, D, and A (and the two behind the scenes) for taking on a thankless job and doing it beautifully.

Also a huge thank you to all the folks, both named and anonymous, who have shared their stories, knowledge, and support. Though I am the only one putting pen to paper (metaphorically at least) on this blog there are many things I might have overlooked were it not for your help. I still have more information to present and more stories to tell and that is a direct result of all of you. Thank you.

You're Not Alone

There was an error in this gadget

Easy Access

ACE Books Amazon Payments Artfire ASPCA Attorney General Bellasugar Better Business Bureau Big Cartel Business Opportunity Buyer Beware Cellini Red Charity Child Safety Closing Coastal Scents Complaints I Filed Consumer Affairs Consumer Product Safety Commission Consumer Reports Consumerist Contact Copyright Cosmetic Safety Craftzine.com Craigslist Cream Eyeliner Dammit Pigment Detroit Handmade Detroit Urban Craft Fair Disney Double Labels Ebay Email Etsy Etsy Call Out Blog Facebook FDA Federal Trade Commision Flickr Frankening Freedom Of Information Act FTC Get Crafty Gift Cards Gift Certificates Gift Exchange GLAAD Glam Rock Magazine glittermail GlitterSniffer GlitterSniffer Bath GlitterSniffer Cosmetics GlitterSnifferCosmetics.highwire.com Glow in the Dark Google Checkout Handmade HBO I Answer Your Questions Ingredients Internet Crime Complaint Center Kids in Danger Labeling Lawsuit Listia Mail and Telephone Order Merchandise Rule Maker City Faire Mascara Media MedWatch Mermaid Tail Michigan Department of Agriculture Michigan Radio Mineral Makeup Class My Story New Products News Not Approved OFT Old Stock Open Letter Overview Party Paypal Perfect Mint Personally Identifying Information PETA Pigmentchick PIRGIM Pissed Consumer Promises Psycho Bath Co PureLuxe purpose Randoms Recall Refund Rep. John D. Dingell Repackaging RipOffReport.com Sanrio Seuss Soap Statement Store Credit Technorati Terms of Service The Conservatorie The Princess Bride The Spotted Box Tim Burton True Blood TWLOHA USPS Vegan Wayne County Health Department Web Wholesale Women's Health Working Girl Cosmetics Your Story
Powered by Blogger.