Saturday, February 19, 2011

Personally Identifying Information/FTC Followup

I received an email today from a person regarding this post. To review, on February 4, 2011 GlitterSniffer Cosmetics asked to hire one of their fans via the Facebook Fan Page to access the company gmail account, gather almost 2,000 customer names and addresses, place it in a blank document and email it back to the company. The company then addressed concerns regarding the release of personally identifying information without consent by stating that it was a 4 year employee who actually did the task. Ironically, they declined to name the employee. They also provided no information as to the use of this information.

I was contacted today by the person who actually did access the information. They wish to remain anonymous. The person is not employed by GlitterSniffer Cosmetics but has done work like this in the past. They are unsure what the information would be used for, apart from it being for some type of mailing list. They assured me that they no longer have the information, did not save a copy of it, and only sent it to GlitterSniffer Cosmetics.

This information contradicts what GlitterSniffer Cosmetics states happened in this situation. Additionally, it should be noted that this appears to be a common practice with the company. Some GS Admins of the private GS Group stepped down yesterday and are no longer supporting the company. Here is what one of them had to say regarding the free sample offer recently posted by GlitterSniffer Cosmetics:


At my count there were at least 5 known Admins as of yesterday. These women are not employed by GlitterSniffer Cosmetics. They are simply supporters who also take (or took in some cases) a role in administrating a fan group.

I will be contacting the FTC Tuesday with this new information, as Monday is a holiday.

Friday, February 18, 2011

Artfire Followup

I apologize for the lack of posts. I had a situation arise that required my attention. I have much to share over the next few days, but will start with this.

I emailed Artfire a few days ago at service@artfire.com. I was not the only one. There were several replies today, all with the same information.

In my email I outlined the various Artfire TOS violations that may be occurring in GlitterSniffer Cosmetics shop.

The email contained a confidentiality disclaimer. The disclaimer is very binding so I will not reiterate it here, but I will say it differed from the reply to my previous email about GlitterSniffer Cosmetics in one very significant way, and I am satisfied with their response.

Those looking for the GlitterSniffer Cosmetics Artfire will find it empty. To curb speculation it should be noted that the company announced it would be closing to catch up on orders.


They were unable to meet their stated turnaround time of 5 business days:



The turnaround time is now 8-10 days. This was announced via the company's Facebook Fan Page.


According to the FTC Mail and Order Telephone Merchandise Rule, which also covers internet sales:
If, after taking the customer’s order, you learn that you cannot ship within the time you stated or within 30 days, you must seek the customer’s consent to the delayed shipment. If you cannot obtain the customer’s consent to the delay -- either because it is not a situation in which you are permitted to treat the customer’s silence as consent and the customer has not expressly consented to the delay, or because the customer has expressly refused to consent -- you must, without being asked, promptly refund all the money the customer paid you for the unshipped merchandise.
 It is not clear if GlitterSniffer Cosmetics has contacted its customers to gain this consent, but at least one consumer was not satisfied:


2/18/11 ETA: Added Label "Complaints I Filed"

Sunday, February 13, 2011

More Comparable Colors

I posted the other day in regards to GlitterSniffer Cosmetics previous practice of repackaging. Again, I am not going to debate the ethics of this practice nor am I stating unequivocally that it is still taking place, but I would like to present additional comparisons to GlitterSniffer Cosmetics recent, current, and soon to be offered products. This post is for informational and comparative purposes only and should not be construed as an endorsement of any company linked herein.

In terms of repackaging the company has stated that it was a practice in the past but that it now blends its own pigments. Information showing what appears to be past repackaging is as follows:

This photo shows sample mica bags in the top right, next to filled pots that appear to be the same color as the samples.
Here is an Etsy listing showing what appears to be sample bags of mica. The empty mixing bags are how GS states they mix their colors. If you compare the purple bag in the listing to the sample bag of Grape POP! in the repackaging post they seem to be the same. The listing also appears to show some of the neon pinks which have now been recalled as unsafe for eye use (when in fact they are not approved for cosmetic use at all). Though at the time of this sale these colors were not recalled, GlitterSniffer Cosmetics has always maintained they disclosed in all listings that the neons were for general cosmetic use only. This is disclosed nowhere in the listing and it is being sold specifically as 'cosmetic eye shadow'.

GlitterSniffer Cosmetics is currently selling their products as "100% pure pigment". As pointed out in the previous post their own ingredients list gives pause to that assertion, as it lists Magnesium Stearate among ingredients it "may contain". MS is a base additive and not a pigment, making these claims not entirely correct.

All that being said here is a list of GlitterSniffer Cosmetics products and their comparable micas or recipes (which are publicly available for anyone to use).

Delirious is comparable to Colorana Blue.
Saturday Night is comparable to 24 Karat Gold.
Seuss White is comparable to Silver Micro Fine Glitter and Fairy Dust 004.
Seuss Gold is comparable to Gold Micro Fine Glitter.
Rock Candy is comparable to Manganese Violet (Left most pigment in the picture).
Hangover is comparable to Dark Brown Oxide.
Rings of Saturn is comparable to Orange Oxide.
Tsunami is comparable to Blue Ice.
Jabberwocky is comparable to Antique Silver.
Illegal Presence is comparable to Brown #3.
Red Rum is comparable to Rouge Flambe Red.
Tear Drops is comparable to Colorana DARK Blue (with Holla Glow Glitter).
Zombie Girl is comparable to Lotsa Lime
Harajuku Collection Coral is comparable to True Coral.
The Unicorn Collection Blue, White, and Black are comparable to Soft Blue, Pearl White, and Soft Black.
The retired Christmas Lights Collection and the as yet unreleased Video Game Collection are comparable to most of the Trues Collection (all, except for Red/Orange, which is not eye approved).

This list is not comprehensive as I only researched the first page on Artfire and select colors and collections. Again, these are only comparable micas and recipes, and the only verified mica that was definitively used, as per an email with GlitterSniffer Cosmetics on January 10, 2011, is the coral in the Harajuku Collection.

Though the list is comparative and informational only it would appear to be quite easy to substitute other micas for what the company is selling, is planning on selling, and has sold in the past at a fraction of the cost.

2/13/11, ETA: Fixed the link for 24 Karat Gold.

2/14/11 ETA:
A member of the GS Complaints Facebook Page who also is a formulator states that Tear Drops may be closer in color to True Blue with Holla Glow Glitter. She also states that Seuss Gold may also contain Gold Sparks, in addition to the Gold Micro Fine Glitter.

You're Not Alone

There was an error in this gadget

Easy Access

ACE Books Amazon Payments Artfire ASPCA Attorney General Bellasugar Better Business Bureau Big Cartel Business Opportunity Buyer Beware Cellini Red Charity Child Safety Closing Coastal Scents Complaints I Filed Consumer Affairs Consumer Product Safety Commission Consumer Reports Consumerist Contact Copyright Cosmetic Safety Craftzine.com Craigslist Cream Eyeliner Dammit Pigment Detroit Handmade Detroit Urban Craft Fair Disney Double Labels Ebay Email Etsy Etsy Call Out Blog Facebook FDA Federal Trade Commision Flickr Frankening Freedom Of Information Act FTC Get Crafty Gift Cards Gift Certificates Gift Exchange GLAAD Glam Rock Magazine glittermail GlitterSniffer GlitterSniffer Bath GlitterSniffer Cosmetics GlitterSnifferCosmetics.highwire.com Glow in the Dark Google Checkout Handmade HBO I Answer Your Questions Ingredients Internet Crime Complaint Center Kids in Danger Labeling Lawsuit Listia Mail and Telephone Order Merchandise Rule Maker City Faire Mascara Media MedWatch Mermaid Tail Michigan Department of Agriculture Michigan Radio Mineral Makeup Class My Story New Products News Not Approved OFT Old Stock Open Letter Overview Party Paypal Perfect Mint Personally Identifying Information PETA Pigmentchick PIRGIM Pissed Consumer Promises Psycho Bath Co PureLuxe purpose Randoms Recall Refund Rep. John D. Dingell Repackaging RipOffReport.com Sanrio Seuss Soap Statement Store Credit Technorati Terms of Service The Conservatorie The Princess Bride The Spotted Box Tim Burton True Blood TWLOHA USPS Vegan Wayne County Health Department Web Wholesale Women's Health Working Girl Cosmetics Your Story
Powered by Blogger.